Pineapple Vinegar

Get ready to love the smell of your cleaning products!

I love using every part of the food that I’m working with. I use my bones to makes stocks and broths, orange peels become my air freshener and furniture polish, celery leaves go in salad and any scraps go to my animals instead of the garbage.

I’m not telling you so I can pat myself on the back. It’s a segway- trust me.

One thing that I LOVE making with my scraps is vinegar. And my favorite vinegar is pineapple vinegar.

Pineapple vinegar has long been a tradition in the West Indies. It can be used to make curtido (Latin American saurkraut) and also makes a great scented cleaner. I personally mix 1 part vinegar to 2 parts water and get to cleaning. It cleans well, smells amazing, and isn’t harmful if the kids get ahold of it.

Let me cut the chit chat and get to the recipe. I get my recipe from one of my favorite cookbooks, Nourishing Traditions. If you don’t already own it, I encourage you to get a copy! I omit the whey that is suggested in the book because it is optional and whey hurts my stomach.

Pineapple Vinegar

Skin and core of 1 pineapple

2 quarts filtered water (At least no chlorine. You don’t want the water to kill the good bacteria that is needed to make the vinegar.)

2 teaspoons dried oregano

1/4 teaspoon red chile flakes

Place all ingredients in a large glass container and cover with a cheesecloth to keep bugs and bad germs out. Leave on counter for 36 hours. Remove pineapple pieces and strain vinegar into clean jars. Cover tightly. This vinegar will keep for several months if kept in a cool place. Mine has never made it that long!

I hope you enjoy this as much as I do!

 

Leave a Reply

