Easy Whey and Yogurt Cheese

Time to knock the dust off the blog with a recipe!

The cookbooks I use call for the use of whey in many recipes.

Whey is simply the liquid remains of curdled milk. It is used as a starter culture for lacto-fermented foods (including my favorite sauerkraut recipe I will share in a later post) and drinks. 1 tablespoon in a glass of water helps digestion. It’s a handy ingredient to keep in the kitchen. The cream cheese, which is the by-product, is much better than store bought. Better tasting and better for you.

DSCN1297
Getting her morning fix of yogurt cheese, egg yolk, and avocado!

There are several ways to make whey, but my favorite way is to strain yogurt. Mostly because there is no advance preparation! It can be used for cooking or on bagels. It also makes a great first food. Whether you are a WAPF groupie or you follow the FDA to a T, they both agree that plain yogurt can be introduced from 6-8 months; and my youngest little bug is a yogurt cheese fanatic!

First start with a good quality plain yogurt. I use Seven Stars Farm yogurt that I purchase from my local Earth Fare. Line a large strainer with a clean dish towel. Pour in the yogurt, cover, and let it sit at room temperature for several hours. The whey will drip into the bowl.

Next, tie up the towel with the solids and tie the sack to a wooden spoon placed on top of a container so the rest of the whey can drip out. When the towel stops dripping, the cheese is ready. Store the whey and cheese in the refrigerator. The yogurt cheese will last about a month and the whey about 6 months. A 32 ounce container of yogurt yields about a cup of cheese and about 1.5 cups of whey for me.

DSCN1302

If you like the recipes and health advice I post on here, check out my Amazon store for suggestions on cookbooks, ingredients, and healthcare products. You can find it here.

[The opinions expressed on my blog are based on my own thoughts and experiences. Please keep in mind that I am NOT a health professional and AM NOT ALLOWED to claim that essential oils can cure, treat, or prevent illness, so please do your own research and consult your doctor before making any changes to your diet or health. You should always do what is right for you.]

Leave a comment